Transportation Planning in the Greater Bangor Urbanized Area


I-395/Route 9 Connector Project

Read More

Public Comment

September 22, 2017
The Bangor Area Comprehensive Transportation System (BACTS) Policy Committee voted to approve an Interim BACTS Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP). This effectively extends the current 2011- 2035 MTP, with no changes, once the Maine DOT gives final approval. This action will allow BACTS and MDOT amendments to the current TIP and STIP, while BACTS completes the 2018-2038 Plan update by early 2018.

Read More

BACTS Area Bicycle Map

This map attempts to depict the comfort level for various levels of bicyclists on major roads in the BACTS area.

Read More

Free Community Connector App

Free Community Connector App Available

Read More


    BACTS is the Bangor Area Comprehensive Transportation System. It is the organization designated by federal and Maine state government to carry out transportation planning in the Greater Bangor urbanized area. 

    What is the area covered?
    The BACTS area includes
    Bangor, Brewer,Veazie, and major portions of Hampden, Hermon, Orono,  Old Town, Milford, Bradley, Orrington and Penobscot Indian Nation. (see map)

    What does BACTS do?
    BACTS evaluates and approves proposed transportation improvement projects and facilitates communication between its member communities and state and federal transportation agencies. It provides opportunities for public participation in transportation planning, and funding decisions. It also sponsors and conducts studies to assist in the transportation planning process. 
    Who Runs BACTS?
    BACTS is governed by a policy committee and a technical committee. The members of these committees are drawn from municipal officials (both elected and appointed) of the member cities and towns, a member from Maine Department of Transportation, Federal Transit Administration and Federal Highway Administration.   In addition there are non-voting members on the policy committee representing the Bangor Region Chamber of Commerce, and the Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy Transportation Subcommittee. There is a staff of four; a director, a transportation planner, a technician and an office manager, with offices at 12 Acme Road in Brewer.